2 Comments

Imam Ahmad (R): “Read it to me again!”

Abu Hāmid al-Khulqāni, one of the students of Imām Ahmed (rahimahullāh), asked him “O Abu Abdullāh, what is your view about these odes which mention Paradise and Hell?” He asked, “Like what for example?”

The student said, “they say:

إذا مـا قـال لـي ربــــــي ** أمـا استحييت تعصـيني ؟

وتخفي الذنب من خلقي ** وبالعـصيــان تـــأتـيــنــــي؟

When my Lord asks me:

Are you not ashamed to disobey Me?

You hide your sins from My creation,

Yet with sins come you …to Me!”

Imām Ahmed said, Read it to me again,” so he did.

Then Ahmed stood up and went into his house and closed the door behind him.

The student said, “I could hear him from inside the house weeping, as he recited:

“When my Lord asks me:

Are you not ashamed to disobey Me?

You hide your sins from My creation,

Yet with sins come you to Me.”

(Dhayl Tabaqāt’l-Hanābilah, 1/53)

Source: AE

Check out the video suggested by Sister Amatullah:

2 comments on “Imam Ahmad (R): “Read it to me again!”

Enlighten the Ummah

