Leave a comment

Are you Rasulalah’s # 1 Fan? Prove it!

“None of you becomes a believer until I am dearer to him than his children, his parents and all mankind.”
(as reported by Bukhari and Muslim)
 
***
Most of us have individuals in our lives whom we love dearly. To name a few could be our parents,siblings,children,spouses and so on. We can’t even bear to think about a life besides them. I personally can’t imagine a Jannah without my parents and my brother. It just would be so incomplete. That’s how much I love them and that’s probably how much most of us love these certain individuals.
 
Sahaba (may Allah SWT be pleased with them all) weren’t like us. They loved Rasulalah SAW more than their parents,spouses and children. They were so much in love with Rasulalah SAW that they couldn’t imagine going to Jannah without having the chance of meeting him there too. They used to question themselves that how could they possibly meet Rasulalah SAW when he SAW would have a higher status than them in Jannah. I mean really it seems impossible, right? Some of them used to be so sad as they thought about this burning question that they lost weight. Not because whether they’d be able to meet their wives and children in Jannah. Notice again, it was Rasulalah SAW who was on their mind. SubhanAllah, for them Jannah didn’t mean Jannah if the company of Rasulalah SAW was not there.
 
Ibn Jarir recorded that Sa`id bin Jubayr said, “An Ansari man came to the Messenger of Allah while feeling sad.
The Prophet said to him, `Why do I see you sad?’
He said, `O Allah’s Prophet! I was contemplating about something.’
The Prophet said, `What is it?’
The Ansari said, `We come to you day and night, looking at your face and sitting by you. Tomorrow, you will be raised with the Prophets, and we will not be able to see you.’
The Prophet SAW did not say anything, but later Jibreel AS came down to him with this Ayah:
 
4:69
And whoso obeys Allâh and the Messenger (Muhammad SAW), then they will be in the company of those on whom Allâh has bestowed His Grace, of the Prophets, the Siddiqûn (those followers of the Prophets who were first and foremost to believe in them, like Abu Bakr As¬Siddiq radhiallahu’anhu), the martyrs, and the righteous. And how excellent these companions are! [Surat an Nisaa, 4:69]
And the Prophet sent the good news to the Ansari man.”
This Hadith was narrated in Mursal form from Masruq, `Ikrimah, `Amir Ash-Sha`bi, Qatadah and Ar-Rabi` bin Anas.
 
Greater news than this is in the authentic Hadith collected in the Sahih and Musnad compilations, in Mutawatir form, narrated by several Companions that the Messenger of Allah was asked about the person who loves a people, but his status is not close to theirs.
 The Messenger said,

«الْمَرْءُ مَعَ مَنْ أَحَب»

 

 ‘One is with those whom he loves.’
Anas commented, “Muslims were never happier than with this Hadith.”
In another narration, Anas said, “I love the Messenger of Allah, Abu Bakr and `Umar, and I hope that Allah will resurrect me with them, even though I did not perform actions similar to theirs.”  [Ibn Kathir]
 
I was just thinking the other day how would it feel when I would be (inshaa’Allah) in the company of some amazing women such as Asiya AS, Maryam AS, Umm Sulaym RA, Zummurud (R) and all the wonderful wives of Rasulalah SAW. They all would be narrating how the love,hope and fear of Allah SWT saved them. All of them narrating their heroic stories. And I would serve them tea and with my over-imaginative mind I can go far as telling them how each one of their stories’ brought hope for me as I struggled through life’s challenges. How much I loved them while I was in the dunia. You know how like people who meet celebrities…the first thing they say to them is that they are their number one fan because of all the posters they have all over the walls of their rooms and their haram merchandise.  I would be probably trying to say that in a hyper-ventilating form of speech. May Allah SWT make my wish come true.Ameen.
 
That was that for those blessed women(may Allah SWT be pleased with them all). But what about Rasulalah SAW? You can’t love someone if you don’t know them. You can’t claim to know them until you know them inside-out. Do we know Rasulalah SAW? Can we say that we were his number # 1 fan on the Day of Judgement? That day we won’t be able to lie. The number of actions in accordance with the Sunnah done in this dunia would be an evidence of how much we loved Him.
 
Remember how we’ve read how all the Prophets will be saying ‘Nafsi,nafsi’ and only Allah SWT will grant us intercession through Rasulalah SAW?

On the authority of Anas (may Allah be pleased with him) from the Prophet SAW who said:

The believers will gather together on the Day of Resurrection and will say: ‘Should we not ask [someone] to intercede for us with our Lord?’

So they will come to Adam and will say: You are the Father of mankind; Allah created you with His hand He made His angels bow down to you and He taught you the names of everything, so intercede for us with you Lord so that He may give us relief form this place where we are.

And he will say: I am not in a position [to do that] – and he will mention his wrongdoing and will feel ashamed and will say: Go to Noah, for he is the first messenger that Allah sent to the inhabitants of the earth.

So they will come to him and he (Noah) will say: I am not in a position [to do that] – and he will mention his having requested something of his Lord about which he had no [proper] knowledge (Quran Chapter 11 Verses 45-46), and he will feel ashamed and will say: Go to the Friend of the Merciful (Abraham).

So they will come to him (Ibrahim) and he will say: I am not in a position [to do that]. Go to Moses, a servant to whom Allah talked and to whom He gave the Torah.

So they will come to him and he will say: I am not in a position [to do that] – and he will mention the talking of a life other that for a life (Quran Chapter 28 Verses 15-16), and he will feel ashamed in the sight of his Lord and will say: Go to Jesus, Allah’s servant and messenger, Allah’s word and spirit.

So they will come to him and he will say: I am not in a position [to do that]. Go to Muhammad (may the blessings and peace of Allah be upon him), a servant to whom Allah has forgiven all his wrongdoing, past and future.

So they will come to me and I shall set forth to ask permission to come to my Lord, and permission will be given, and when I shall see my Lord I shall prostrate myself. He will leave me thus for such time as it pleases Him.

And then it will be said [to me]: ‘Raise your head. Ask and it will be granted. Speak and it will be heard. Intercede and your intercession will be accepted.’

So I shall raise my head and praise Him with a form of praise that He will teach me. Then I shall intercede and HE will set me a limit [as to the number of people], so I shall admit them into Paradise. Then I shall return to Him, and when I shall see my Lord [I shall bow down] as before. Then I shall intercede and He will set me a limit [as to the number of people]. So I shall admit them into Paradise. Then I shall return for a third time, then a fourth, and I shall say: There remains in Hell-fire only those whom the Quran has confined and who must be there for eternity.

There shall come out of Hell-fire he who has said: There is no god but Allah and who has in his heart goodness weighing a barley-corn; then there shall come out of Hell-fire he who has said: There is no god but Allah and who has in his heart goodness weighing a grain of wheat; then there shall come out of Hell-fire he who has said: There is no god but Allah and who has in his heart goodness weighing an atom. [It was related by al-Bukhari,also by Muslim, at-Tirmidhi, and Ibn Majah]

 
Are you a true no. 1 fan of Rasulalah SAW? How many books describing him have you pored over?
And how many posters of ahadith are etched within the walls of your heart? Do you love the right kind of people and will their love get you anywhere? (note: I’m not even talking about the haram kind of love most people are indulging in these days from haram relationships to celebrity-worship. Permissible forms of love can be destructive too if not controlled.)
 
Worth thinking about, right?
 
And Allah SWT knows best.
 
[a verse from Dr. Reda’s lecture, Mercy Conference 2011 with personal reflections]
Enlighten the Ummah

