Leave a comment

Praising Allah SWT for Four things during Calamities

It is reported that Shurayh – Allâh have mercy on him – said, “If I am afflicted with a calamity, I praise Allâh for it four times:

  1. I praise Him because it wasn’t worse than it was,
  2.  I praise Him when He gives me the patience to bear it,
  3. I praise Him for enabling me to say al-istirjâ’ (‘To Allâh we belong and to him we will return’; see Al-Baqarah: 154-156) in hope of a great reward,
  4. and I praise Him for not making it a calamity in my religion.”

-Al-Dhahabî, Siyar A’lâm Al-Nubalâ`, in his biography of Shurayh Al-Qâdî.

Enlighten the Ummah

