Leave a comment

‘Aisha RA: ‘…Allah’s Apostle came to me while I was weeping…’

Narrated By Al-Qasim :

‘Aisha said, “We set out with the sole intention of performing Hajj and when we reached Sarif, (a place six miles from Mecca) I got my menses. Allah’s Apostle came to me while I was weeping. He said ‘What is the matter with you? Have you got your menses?’ I replied, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is a thing which Allah has ordained for the daughters of Adam. So do what all the pilgrims do with the exception of the Taw-af (Circumambulation) round the Ka’ba.” ‘Aisha added, “Allah’s Apostle sacrificed cows on behalf of his wives.”

[Volume 001 :: Book 006  :: Hadith 293]

***

`Ata’ bin Abu Rabah reported: Ibn `Abbas RA asked him whether he would like that he should show him a woman who is from the people Jannah. When he replied that he certainly would, he said, “This black woman, who came to the Prophet SAW and said, `I suffer from epilepsy and during fits my body is exposed, so make supplication to Allah for me.’

He SAW replied:

‘If you wish you endure it patiently and you be rewarded with Jannah, or if you wish, I shall make supplication to Allah to cure you?’ She said, ‘I shall endure it.’ Then she added: `But my body is exposed, so pray to Allah that it may not happen.’ He (Prophet SAW) then supplicated for her”. [Al-Bukhari and Muslim].

***

Abu Sa`id and Abu Hurairah RA  reported that the Prophet SAW said:

“Never a believer is stricken with a discomfort, an illness, an anxiety, a grief or mental worry or even the pricking of a thorn but Allah will expiate his sins on account of his patience”. [Al-Bukhari and Muslim].

***

‘Abdullaah Ibn Mas’ood said:

“It is more beloved to me to bite onto a red coal until it cools, than for me to say about something that Allaah has preordained, ‘Only if it didn’t happen.‘ ”  [Az-Zuhd, of Aboo Daawood, p. 136]

‘Abdul Wahhaab Ibn Ziyaad said:

“I can’t think of any deeds that are more virtuous than patience except for being pleased [with Allaah and His Qadar] and similarly I don’t know of a level higher and nobler than being pleased [with Allaah and His Qadar] and it is the head of loving Allaah.” [Al-Hilyah, 6/163]

Sufwaan Ath-Thawree said:

Three qualities are from patience:

(a) not speaking about your misfortune,

(b) (not speaking about) your pain, and

(c) not praising yourself.” [Al-Hilyah, 6/389]

Enlighten the Ummah

