2 Comments

One God, One Love, One Purpose

Asalamoalaykum warahmatullah,

I think it is extremely important for Muslims to recognize that despite the rampant corruption in the Muslim world, Muslim countries had a significant impact on the Eeman of Muslims of the past.

I don’t like patriotism…nationalism, whatever people call it. I strongly despise customs which contradict Islam.

And if I say that I don’t want to associate myself from present-day Pakistanis or their lifestyle, I don’t think I would be lying. I have every good reason to say that. Reasons which will definitely make every Pakistani I know angry but I like to be honest.

Allahu ‘alam, to be fair: had I been living there, I could have been going through similar issues but alhamdolilah He SWT protected me.

The psychological oppression there suffocates me. The not-so-Islamic Bid’ah-infested ultra-Westernization greed disgusts me. The hypocrisy saddens me to the core. Notorious for not listening to the Call of Allah SWT, whether there or here, I feel this pain within me whenever people from my country are not following the Islamic lifestyle. It’s very very painful subhanAllah.

Yet, the reality remains and it will continue to resonate through the times.

And that reality is:

Despite what you see today, despite what the haters say, Pakistan was built on the basis of Islam. To raise the flag of Tawheed against Shirk (Hinduism). It is the birth place of the greatest of past and present-day ‘Ulema.

Urdu is the only language in which most of the scholarly Islamic works are translated.

I abhor patriotism but I love Islam.

Allah SWT gave ‘life’ to Muslims via Pakistan. Pakistan was finally the place where they could practice Islam without the plots of non-Muslims (Hindus and the British).

My grandparents were Muhajireen and Alhamdolilah, I’m proud to be part of that legacy!

Walking on foot for miles, leaving properties/families behind. Having whole families ‘slaughtered’. They had their priorities right.

I’m thankful to Allah SWT for making me a descendant of those who (inshaa’Allah) loved Allah SWT most.

I don’t know what to call myself today. Don’t get me wrong, I have no identity crises.

I just want to be called a Muslim. I give my allegiance to Allah SWT alone and not to certain countries. And I will defend Muslims wherever they live.

I just want to love every Muslim because that is what my faith requires of me.

Rasulullah (sallallahu alaihi wa sallam) emphatically stressed this lesson when he said: “None of you is a believer until he loves for his brother (his fellow Muslims) what he loves for himself.” (Sahih Muslim)

I also want to keep loving the legacy which brought Pakistan to the map.

I don’t want to dissociate myself from it. I just want to purify my identity from anything un-Islamic.

With nationalism comes arrogance and be-littling people from neighboring countries.

I just can’t stand that. In fact, I want to actively associate with Muslims everywhere.

So next time, somebody pokes fun at any nation, remind them with this:

O you who have believed, let not a people ridicule [another] people; perhaps they may be better than them; nor let women ridicule [other] women; perhaps they may be better than them. And do not insult one another and do not call each other by [offensive] nicknames. Wretched is the name of disobedience after [one’s] faith. And whoever does not repent – then it is those who are the wrongdoers. [Surah al Hujuraat, 49:11]

***

The Struggle of Love, The Struggle for Love: The Hijrah for Muslims – 1947

Today, the Blessings Enjoyed by Muslims in Pakistan:

↑  Badshahi Mosque, Lahore, Pakistan

 ↑ Lal Masjid (Red Mosque) 2009 in Islamabad, Pakistan.

↑  Pakistani Muslims pray at the Dervesh Mosque in Peshawar on Aug. 1,2011.

↑  Men distribute food after the first day of fasting at a mosque in Karachi, Pakistan, on Aug. 2, 2011.

***

We enjoy His Bounties but we don’t thank Him by obeying Him.

Instead we kill each other, hate each other, harbor prejuidices against each other.

Indian Muslims against Pakistani Muslims.

Pakistani Muslims against Indian Muslims.

What we don’t realize is that if one Muslim triumphs, the whole Ummah triumphs.

If one Muslim regardless of their origin excels, the whole Ummah excels.

Not Pakistani, Indian, Bangladeshi, Palestinian, German, Filipino, Persian,Chinese, Jamaican, Canadian, French, Indonesian, Eggyptian, Saudi.

Only a Muslim.

O mankind, indeed We have created you from male and female and made you peoples and tribes that you may know one another. Indeed, the most noble of you in the sight of Allah is the most righteous (having most Taqwa)of you. Indeed, Allah is Knowing and Acquainted. [Surah al Hujjuraat, 49:13]

No matter where you’re from, learn the legacy of the Muslims. It will only increase your Eeman.

Islam has room for all races and cultures, so make your heart spacious enough too!

Taqwa resides in the hearts and is not associated with certain countries or races.

Anything not from Allah SWT, is then definitely from Shaytan. Like all other festivals/celebrations besides the ones ordained by Allah SWT.

With thousands of people getting high on nationalism, I want to continue to get my inspiration from Islamic victories. Whether it’s the birth of Pakistan or Salahuddin Ayyubi’s victories in the name of Allah SWT.

Yes, I am Pakistani.

But before that I am a Muslim.

Mission statement of our lives is to worship Him and that is sufficient for a Muslim as a burden to bear. It is a beautiful goal to aim for:

And I did not create the jinn and mankind except to worship Me. [Surah adh-Dhaariyat, 51:56]

Let’s fulfill the conditions of Shahadah. Let’s not waste our time in useless activities.

And Allah SWT knows best.

May Allah SWT give us the Tawfeeq to raise the honor of Muslims in Pakistan. May Allah SWT raise amongst them leaders who lead to their reformation and may Allah SWT bring them back to Islam and give them liberty from the shackles of Shirk and following of lame desires.May Allah SWT bless Pakistan and all Muslims all over the world.Ameen

2 comments on “One God, One Love, One Purpose

  1. Jazakallah khayr for the excellent post. I am not from Pakistan, yet it saddens me to see the negativity towards it from some Muslims (let alone Hindus). I believe the people who migrated grabbed on to the golden opportunity of Hijrah. (Those who stayed back very likely had valid reasons; Allahu ‘alam.)

    You said it best: regardless of its current state, we must not forget, “Pakistan was built on the basis of Islam. To raise the flag of Tawheed against Shirk (Hinduism).”

    And that must suffice for us Muslims to be its well-wishers.

    • Ameen, wa iyyakum.

      Inshaa’Allah, no judgements being passed regarding those who stayed back because their case rests with Allah SWT.

      Please do spread this idea within your community whenever such topics come up. BarakAllahu feekum for sharing your thoughts.

      I pray such positive thoughts, honesty and pure intentions become a source of salvation for you on the day of Judgement. In fact, for all of us. Ameen.

      Wasalamu alaykum warahmatullah,
      -Umm S.

Enlighten the Ummah

