6 Comments

Over 1/2 of Ramadan GONE: Don’t Stop just Yet!

  • Do not let what you cannot do interfere with what you can do. At least, continue with whatever Ramadan goals you can achieve. Don’t abandon them altogether.
  • You are the handicap you must face. You are the one who must choose your place : just Jannah or Jannatul Firdaus al ‘Ala?
  • Great souls have wills; feeble ones have only wishes. Everyone wishes to have an amazing Ramadan, your wishing it doesn’t make you special. Is your will strong enough to help you achieve one?
  • The day you take complete responsibility for yourself, the day you stop making any excuses, that’s the day you start to the top. Get rid of all distractions and do not blame others. Focus!
  • There are plenty of difficult obstacles in your path. Don’t allow yourself to become one of them. Get over your need for sleep, food, drink, unnecessary talk, surfing the internet. There is no time left!
  • There’s a difference between interest and commitment. When you’re interested in something, you do it only when it’s convenient. When you’re committed to something, you accept no excuses; only results. Are you merely interested in being a Mo’min or are you committed? Only your attitude and actions would differentiate you from the one who’s merely interested!
  • If your intention is right, it’ll take you far inshaa’Allah.The right intention from Ramadan is to perform all good deeds with faith and out of hope of reward. The stronger your faith and hope for reward, the more will you be motivated!

6 comments on “Over 1/2 of Ramadan GONE: Don’t Stop just Yet!

  1. Salam.

    I was going to respond to your earlier post but I could not articulate what I wanted to say. I was thinking of something ‘sensational’ to say to keep you writing more, but I could not string the words together. Hand on heart though, I cannot speak for other readers/silent vistors etc but I for one do enjoy your continuous posts, I feel like you are with me and it gives strength to pushing, knowing that I am not alone in this ardous journey. However I respect your concern for writing ‘too’ much in the sense that you will be held accountable for it. It all comes down to intention in the beginning, middle and end. If you can tick all these boxes then I would say don’t stop please!

    Anyroad, yes over half way now. Well, it comes back to the glass analogy, all depends on how you look at this. I’m forcing myself to take the view that there is still half left – so take heed! May allah swt instill in us a sense of urgency to race to his forgiveness. Was not going to tell you this..but well I dunno…I guess I wanted to keep my sincerity in check, at times I feel afraid. At the same time I also wanted to request a dua from you. Inshallah I am going to be sitting Itikaf again. I’m a bit dumbfounded that this opportunity has landed on my doorstep again. I’m looking at it thinking how can I make it fruitful, a turning point – ‘Indeed Allah does not change the state of people until they change themselves’ – how true are these words! I’m lamenting at my poor will and resolve, its not strong enough, and when it comes down to it what is in my way is me. May Allah swt aid me to get over myself, as I do not know how to strengthen it! One thing is for sure, I am sick of feeling this way and I do wish to break out of this cage:

    ‘My heart calls me to what will harm me,
    Increasing my sorrow and pain,
    How can I guard against my enemy,
    When the enemy resides inside me?’

    Please keep me in your duas. You are always in mine.

    Much love: R.xxx

    • Walaykum asalam! :)

      It’s heart-warming to read your comments :) They give me the extra ‘push’ I need, alhamdolilah.

      Wow! Mashaa’Allah tabarakAllah! May Allah SWT bless you with many more opportunities such as this! Ameen.

      No, it’s good that you told me. I got excited when I read it! You know, it is true then. Allah SWT really gives opportunities to those who seek it. I know you well enough to say that you’ve been working so hard (or harder than me at least) before Ramadan…and so why wouldn’t He choose you amongst so many? Allah SWT does look at hearts and chooses according to the state of hearts. Alhamdolilah. I only have sincere duaas for you! It gives me the inspiration that if I ask hard enough, I will get the opportunity to do ‘Ibadah too whether it’s I’tikaaf in the Masjid or Hajj. Inshaa’Allah one day :)

      It’s actually healthy to be nervous, don’t you think? It’s good to have that healthy level of fear. It’ll keep you in check and make you steadfast. So that in Jannah, the Angels say to you inshaa’Allah:

      Verily, those who say: “Our Lord is Allah (Alone),” and then they Istaqamu (persevered and followed the right course) , on them the angels will descend (at the time of their death) (saying): “Fear not, nor grieve! But receive the glad tidings of Paradise which you have been promised! [Surah Fussilat, 41:30]

      And fear also ensures that we keep excelling and that we are sincere. Remember the email I sent? It is a sign of true believers:

      (And those who give that which they give) (23:60) meaning, they give away voluntary charity, and perform the acts of worship yet, (with their hearts full of fear) (23: 60) afraid that these good deeds might not be accepted of them.

      So congratulations on having that fear and struggling with yourself!
      Trust me, you’ll notice that none of the scholars are ‘satisfied’ with their Nafs…if you read the words of the Salaf, you’ll notice they were struggling too :)

      You keep struggling with your Nafs and purifying it until you reach Jannah. Alhamdolilah Allah SWT has opened our eyes and we know that our soul needs purification…Like Allah SWT says that one who purifies his Nafs is actually the one who succeeds…so you should be happy, that Allah SWT is paving path towards your ultimate success. He’s allowing you to be successful, how amazing is that?! That’s how I remind myself:

      And by Nafs (Adam or a person or a soul, etc.), and Him Who perfected him in proportion; And inspired it [with discernment of] its wickedness and its righteousness, Indeed he succeeds who purifies his ownself (i.e. obeys and performs all that Allah ordered, by following the true Faith of Islamic Monotheism and by doing righteous good deeds). And he has failed who instills it [with corruption]. [Surah Ash Shams, 91:7-10]

      Just don’t overwhelm yourself. Treat your Nafs like a child who throws up tantrums…you need to discipline it, but with mercy. But keep pushing ahead. And take breaks when necessary :)

      We can definitely overcome the Nafs. It’s just that we’ve spent years in not purifying it, that’s why it seems to overcome us. But now that we know, we’ll keep struggling until we die inshaa’Allah. There’s no turning back. There are only two things can happen in the process; either we’ll end up dying (in which case we’ll be rewarded for our struggles) OR we’ll be victorious over our Nafs and really excel in our ‘Ibadaat. In both cases, it’s a win-win situation for us.

      It’s difficult. I know. I’m struggling too. In fact, I have to keep forcing myself every single hour to work harder. It’s tiring. I tend to sometimes achieve over and beyond what I expected…and sometimes I’m extremely lazy. So inshaa’Allah, I hope to one day reach a balance as I keep taming my Nafs. And so will you inshaa’Allah! Imagine how wonderful it would feel in Jannah for working so hard in Dunia…when everyone else would be regretting all the Ramadans they wasted. Remind yourself with that and your resolve will become stronger. Think like an athlete, who only focuses on the finishing line.

      May Allah SWT make it a fruitful journey and make us stronger…and make us patient so that we reach the most noble companionship of Prophets, martyrs, Siddiqeen (truthful ones), Sawliheen (the righteous) and Mohsineen.Ameen.

      Do keep me updated!
      Love it when you share your thoughts with me :)

      Wish I could enjoy I’tikaaf with you <3

      Inshaa'Allah someday!

      Hugs,
      -M.

  2. Inshallah will reply properly, for now I have a question:

    Solo itikaf vs a collective one (under the supervision of a Shaikh) and few hundred people.

    Inshallah I have the option of both this year, confused what to do for the best.

    Need your thoughts please.

  3. Ha, was thinking that, but I needed an answer quick, so I thought he may be slow in responding the busy man he is. Anyroad the answer has became clear – solo is the answer.

    Thank god! x

    P.s. Nearly iftar time, thank you for your comments, they are something I will used to propel me further.
    P.P.s Are we racing each other in forgiveness? :p Lets arise to the occasion. x
    P.P.P.s Will respond in lengthy, well deserved mail, bear with me. x

    • Is ‘solo’ recommended (mustaHabb) or is it the only way that it’s supposed to be done? Do you know the evidence as well? Just curious b/c never came across such a question and wanted to know the answer myself.

      I like the challenge :D I accept the challenge! :D

      No worries R. I totally understand sis! :) Take as long as you want (but that doesn’t mean I’m not anxiously waiting for it!)

      Wasalamu alaykum,
      -Umm S.

Enlighten the Ummah

