Leave a comment

Alhamdolilah for the Twists and Turns of Qadr

The way Qadr works is ‘ajeeb. Allah SWT is a fantastic Planner and it’s amazing how things unfold. Umm Sulaym is shocked and will remain in a state of shock for another few months regardless of what happens. Or possibly for another year?

Pleasantly shocked that is, considering that’s possible. But I guess it is in this context.

It could become an excellent inspirational Islamic short story. You know the kind grandparents tell their grandkids. The kind men who’ve had great adventures, narrate and boast a little bit about. But this boasting will not be of oneself or other people.

It would be ‘boasting’ of the special favours of Allah SWT on certain people.

I think I have been blessed by Allah SWT with more than I can handle.

And I know it would’ve been hard for me to say this in Jan 2011, exactly a year ago. How Allah SWT soothes the hearts!

Frankly, if Umm Sulaym could, she would stand up on a mountain and shout out to everyone His Favours upon her! Not because she wants to show off. Rather just as a reminder to those who are at the brink of losing hope in His Mercy!

May Allah SWT accept this post as mentioning and remembering of His Countless blessings upon me. Ameen.

Indeed Allah SWT increases that which you wish to do Shukr in and never ever disappoints those who strive to rely on Him and have good expectations from Him. We just need to try and despite us not completely achieving the level of a thankful slave and being completely reliant on Him, He SWT still rewards us…and so very subtly.. so beautifully…so lovingly…in abundance that is appropriate for us, at a time that is right for us. SubhanAllah! May Umm Sulaym be sacrificed for His Sake.

***

يَا بَنِي إِسْرَائِيلَ اذْكُرُوا نِعْمَتِيَ الَّتِي أَنْعَمْتُ عَلَيْكُمْ

وَأَوْفُوا بِعَهْدِي أُوفِ بِعَهْدِكُمْ وَإِيَّايَ فَارْهَبُونِ

O Children of Israel, remember My favor which I have bestowed upon you and fulfill My covenant [upon you] that I will fulfill your covenant [from Me], and be afraid of [only] Me.

يَا بَنِي إِسْرَائِيلَ اذْكُرُوا نِعْمَتِيَ الَّتِي أَنْعَمْتُ عَلَيْكُمْ وَأَنِّي فَضَّلْتُكُمْ عَلَى الْعَالَمِينَ

 O Children of Israel, remember My favor that I have bestowed upon you and that I preferred you over the worlds.

[Surat’l Baqarah, verses 40 & 47]

***

Ya Rabb, I am trying to remember your favours upon me and I know you preferred me over people in many blessings. So please don’t forget me in my difficult times for I try hard to keep remembering You and not lose focus of death and Akhirah amidst this new found source of pleasant contemplation, alhamdolilah. Please facilitate all my affairs and make me content and make me see khayr in everything You have Decreed for me. And as You do that, please love me and be Pleased me with me for I am far more pleased a human can ever be for You being my Rabb, for Islam being my Deen and Prophet Mohammed salalahu ‘alayhi wasalam being our Nabi. Please convert this love of mine into sincere ‘Ibadah which I am utterly deficient in. Please forgive me…

Ameen.

Enlighten the Ummah

