2 Comments

Just for a Smile:Interesting Quotes from Jane Austen’s Novels

“That is what I like; that is what a young man ought to be. Whatever be his pursuits, his eagerness in them should know no moderation, and leave him no sense of fatigue.”

Sense & Sensibility

~

“Know your own happiness. Want for nothing but patience — or give it a more fascinating name: Call it hope.”

Sense and Sensibility

~

“How quick come the reasons for approving what we like.”

Persuasion

~

“My idea of good company is the company of clever, well-informed people, who have a great deal of conversation; that is what I call good company.’

‘You are mistaken,’ said he gently, ‘that is not good company, that is the best.”

 Persuasion

~

“It is amazing to me, ” said Bingley, “How young ladies can have patience to be so very accomplished as they all are.”

“All young ladies accomplished? My dear Charles, what do you mean?”

“Yes, all of them, I think. They all paint tables, cover screens and net purses. I scarcely know any one who cannot do all this, and I am sure I never heard a young lady spoken of for the first time without being informed that she was very accomplished.”

“Your list of the common extent of accomplishments,” said Darcy, “has too much truth. The word is applied to many a woman who deserves it no otherwise than by netting a purse or covering a screen. But I am very far from agreeing with you in your estimation of ladies in general. I cannot boast of knowing more than half a dozen, in the whole range of my acquaintance, that are really accomplished.”

“Nor I, I am sure.” said Miss Bingley.

“Then,” observed Elizabeth, “you must comprehend a great deal in your idea of an accomplished woman.”

“Yes, I do comprehend a great deal in it.”

“Oh! certainly,” cried his faithful assistant, “no one can really be esteemed accomplished who does not greatly surpass knowledge of music, singing, drawing, dancing, and the modern languages, to deserve the word; and besides all this, she must possess a certain something in her air and manner of walking, the tone of her voice, her address and expressions, or the word will be but half deserved.”

 “All this she must possess,” added Darcy, “and to all this she must yet add something more substantial, in the improvement of her mind by extensive reading.”

“I am no longer surprised at your knowing only six accomplished women. I rather wonder at your knowing any.”

Pride & Prejudice

~

“She began now to comprehend that he was exactly the man who, in disposition and talents, would most suit her. His understanding and temper, though unlike her own, would have answered all her wishes. It was a union that must have been to the advantage of both: by her ease and liveliness, his mind might have been softened, his manners improved; and from his judgement, information, and knowledge of the world, she must have received benefit of greater importance.”

Pride & Prejudice

~

“Men of sense, whatever you may choose to say, do not want silly wives.”

 Emma

2 comments on “Just for a Smile:Interesting Quotes from Jane Austen’s Novels

  1. what an interesting collection of quotes! I wonder what brought you to select these..I do however find myself having used in the past the term ‘accomplished’ I guess this is what is repeated oft in these sentences, so that answers the question. Thats years in the making to achieve that level and add to that the layer of Islam what a unique creature you will become! Some quotes I wish to share from a book by Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

    ‘“Prayer is a relationship; half the job is mine. If I want transformation, but can’t even be bothered to articulate what, exactly, I’m aiming for, how will it ever occur? Half the benefit of prayer is in the asking itself, in the offering of a clearly posed and well-considered intention. If you don’t have this, all your pleas and desires are boneless, floppy, inert; they swirl at your feet in a cold fog and never lift.”

    “There is a reason they call God a presence – because God is right here, right now. In the present is the only place to find Him, and now is the only time.”

    “You need to learn how to select your thoughts just the same way you select your clothes every day. This is a power you can cultivate. If you want to control things in your life so bad, work on the mind. That’s the only thing you should be trying to control.”

    “Your treasure – your perfection – is within you already. But to claim it, you must leave the busy commotion of the mind and abandon the desires of the ego and enter into the silence of the heart.”

    “Look for God. Look for God like a man with his head on fire looks for water.”

    R.x

    • The quotes I shared amused me and made me smile because of some truth within them. Thanks for sharing those quotes. They seem to resonate many Islamic principles. Tells us about Fitrah which every human is gifted with by Allah SWT. I personally refrain from reading on Spirituality by non-Muslims but it was interesting to read what you shared.

Enlighten the Ummah

