Leave a comment

Serving and Loving Rasulalah ﷺ – A Family Affair

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

“The heart is like a garden. It can grow compassion or fear, resentment or love. What seeds will you plant there?”

Jack Kornfield

***

Abu Talhah RA was Umm Sulaym RA’s husband and Anas bin Malik RA was her son (from the first husband who died as a Mushrik).

~

The Parents’ Love for Rasulalah 

Narrated Anas:

On the day of the battle of Uhud, the people ran away, leaving the Prophet  but Abu Talha was shielding the Prophet with his shield in front of him. Abu Talha was a strong, experienced archer who used to keep his arrow bow strong and well-stretched. On that day he broke two or three arrow bows. If any man passed by carrying a quiver full of arrows, the Prophet would say to him, “Empty it in front of Abu Talha.” When the Prophet stated looking at the enemy by raising his head, Abu talha said, “O Allah’s Prophet! Let my parents be sacrificed for your sake! Please don’t raise your head and make it visible, lest an arrow of the enemy should hit you. Let my neck and chest be wounded instead of yours.” (On that day) I saw ‘Aisha, the daughter of Abu Bakr and Umm Sulaym(mother of Anas ibn Malik) both lifting their dresses up so that I was able to see the ornaments of their legs, and they were carrying the water skins on their arms to pour the water into the mouths of the thirsty people and then go back and fill them and come to pour the water into the mouths of the people again. (On that day) Abu Talha’s sword fell from his hand twice or thrice.

[Sahih al Bukhair: Volume 5, Book 58, Number 156]

~

Narrated by Anas bin Malik:

Abu Talha said to Umm Sulaym, “I have heard the voice of Allah’s Apostle which was feeble, and I think that he is hungry. Have you got something (to eat)?” She took out some loaves of barley bread, then took her face-covering sheet and wrapped the bread in part of it, and pushed it under my garment and turned the rest of it around my body and sent me to Allah’s Apostle . I went with that, and found Allah’s Apostle in the mosque with some people. I stood up near them, and Allah’s Apostle asked me, “Have you been sent by abu talha?” I said, “Yes.” He asked, “With some food (for us)?” I said, “Yes.” Then Allah’s Apostle said to all those who were with him, “Get up!”

He set out (and all the people accompanied him) and I proceeded ahead of them till I came to Abu Talha. Abu Talha then said, “O Umm Sulaym! Allah’s Apostle has arrived along with the people, and we do not have food enough to feed them all.”

She said, “Allah and His Apostle know better.”

So Abu Talha went out till he met Allah’s Apostle. Then Abu Talha and Allah’s Apostle came and entered the house. Allah’s Apostle said, “Umm Sulaym! Bring whatever you have.” She brought that very bread. The Prophet ordered that it be crushed into small pieces, and Umm Sulaym pressed a skin of butter on it. Then Allah’s Apostle said whatever Allah wished him to say (to bless the food) and then added, “Admit ten (men).” So they were admitted, ate their fill and went out. The Prophet then said, “Admit ten (more).” They were admitted, ate their full, and went out. He then again said, “Admit ten more!” They were admitted, ate their fill, and went out. He admitted ten more, and so all those people ate their fill, and they were eighty men.

[Sahih al Bukhari: Volume 7, Book 65, Number 293]

~

Narrated by ‘Abdul-‘Aziz:

Anas said, “When Allah’s Apostle arrived at Medina, abu talha took hold of my hand and brought me to Allah’s Apostle and said, “O Allah’s Apostle! Anas is an intelligent boy, so let him serve you.” Anas added, “So I served the Prophet at home and on journeys; by Allah, he never said to me for anything which I did: ‘Why have you done this like this or, for anything which I did not do: ‘Why have you not done this like this?”

[Sahih al Bukhari: Volume 9, Book 83, Number 46]

~

Parents’ Achievement: The Child’s Love for Rasulalah ﷺ

Narrated by Anas:

“I was a young boy when I once was walking with Allah’s Apostle . Allah’s Apostle entered the house of his slave tailor and the latter brought a dish filled with food covered with pieces of gourd. Allah’s Apostle started picking and eating the gourd. When I saw that, I started collecting and placing the gourd before him. Then the slave returned to his work. Anas added: I have kept on loving gourd since I saw Allah’s Apostle doing what he was doing.”

[Sahih al Bukhari: Volume 7, Book 65, Number 346]

***

“…be mindful of the seeds you plant today, as they will become the crop you harvest.”

Mary Morrissey

Enlighten the Ummah

