Leave a comment

Of Birds, Spring and Skills

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

SubhanAllah I think birds are of the most intelligent and most elegant creations of Allah SWT and there are so many of them in different colours, shapes, sizes with different calls and singing abilities that one can’t help being fascinated by them. I’m not sure about the ruling behind keeping them as pets in a cage but they are adorable especially the chubby white sparrow look-alikes which have a black beak and a navy blue exceptionally long tail. I don’t know their name but they look beautiful. Also, there are many birds here which sound like cuckoos but have a whistle-like effect to it which is very sweet and innocent. Their call always make you feel like petting them even though they’re not visible. If they are from the family of cuckoo birds then the reason why they are seldom seen out in the open is because they are generally shy birds which hide very well in trees. That’s a characteristic of the cuckoo birds. I think that makes them even cuter.

In the city I live, Spring takes time to arrive and when it does, it is worth the wait mashaa’Allah. Lately soon after Fajr, alhamdolilah I’ve been getting the opportunity to hear the cuckoo sound-alike bird with its sweet tone. It’s a pleasant experience and I wonder every time I hear them that perhaps they are glorifying Allah SWT in their own little way while humans are rushing for work. One can learn a lot from birds and the above video is just an example. We think we have it tough as humans but subhanAllah, birds struggle too. We’re promised rewards for our struggles, the birds are not and yet they work hard.

It’s worth thinking how skillful these birds are without being trained after birth. It is Allah SWT Alone who guides them instinctively to build complicated nests so that they can have a peaceful shelter. I had a stressful day today and I couldn’t focus at all with all the worrisome thoughts piling over each other. Everything I wanted to achieve in the next few months felt suddenly so impossible and the million thoughts of what’s to come made it even more impossible. I opened up the window (it’s still chilly) and I heard some cheerful chirping. SubhanAllah it changed everything and the mere chirping of the birds connected me back to Allah SWT. The warm sunshine and the to-and-fro movement of the plants with the chilly wind made me relax…

It’s okay if I don’t know much about a lot of things.

It’s okay if I lack certain skills.

The thought of failing to manage things important to me and then the anxiety of how things will turn out churns my stomach. But inshaa’Allah Allah SWT will teach me just like He taught all His Creations and I will survive. Some things are instinctive after all and one doesn’t discover his/her skills unless put to test. I feel so small in front of what I wish to do but after watching the video, I realized that Allah SWT can help small creatures to achieve major goals which makes one beneficial for everyone around.

It may take a few tries like the novice bird but eventually I know Allah SWT will help me get there and He will put barakah in my time. And as time goes on, I mustn’t forget that if I really want to worry about my future then I should worry about it in the context of what I have sent forth for my Akhirah. Other things, one can try. But it’s upto Him to make those efforts reach fruition. I don’t want to join the mad-race like other people and feel artificial,tied down, anxious and troubled just by comparing myself with others in dunia-matters. What good is there in it anyway when success only lies in reaching Jannah? Isn’t that enough of a goal that requires every fiber of your body’s focus? Allahul Musta’an.

And Allah SWT knows best.

~

59:18

59:19

59:20

O you who believe! Fear Allâh and keep your duty to Him. And let every person look to what he has sent forth for the tomorrow, and fear Allâh. Verily, Allâh is All-Aware of what you do. (18) And be not like those who forgot Allâh and He caused them to forget their ownselves, (let them to forget to do righteous deeds). Those are the Fâsiqûn (rebellious, disobedient to Allâh). (19) Not equal are the dwellers of the Fire and the dwellers of the Paradise. It is the dwellers of Paradise that will be successful. (20)

[Surat’l Hashr]

Enlighten the Ummah

