3 Comments

The Stranger of the Hereafter – Al ‘Aarif

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

الحمد لله رب العالمين وصلى الله وسلم على رسول الله وعلى آله وأصحابه ومن اهتدى بهديه إلى يوم الدين

blurred flowers

This is what Abu Sulaiman Ad-Daaraani (R) used to say concerning their attributes:

‘Their longing is not like the longing of the people. And their desire for the Hereafter is contrary to the desires of the people. And their supplication is not like the supplication of the people.’

And he (R) was once asked concerning what the best of deeds was, so he began to weep and said:

‘It is that He takes over your heart and so you are not seen wanting from this world or the next one, anything other than Him.’

Yahyaa ibn Mu’aadh (R) said:

‘The Zaahid is the stranger of this world and the ‘Aarif is the stranger of the Hereafter.’

He is indicating that the one who abandons the worldly life is a stranger amidst the people of this world, while the one who is aware of Allah is a stranger amidst the people of the Hereafter. Thus, neither the worshippers nor the ascetics will be able to recognize him.

~

And perhaps the condition of the ‘Aarif is hidden from even himself, due to the concealment of his condition and the bad thoughts he holds for himself.

Ibraheem ibn Adham (R) said:

‘I have not seen this matter except in a man who did not know that about himself nor did the people know him.’

***

Source: ‘The Ghurabah’ by Ibn Rajab Al-Hanbali (R), pp. 22-23.

3 comments on “The Stranger of the Hereafter – Al ‘Aarif

  1. Assalamu alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuhu sis would it be possible for me to contact you privately Insha’Allah? There is something I would like to share with you but do not wish to do so on here.

    • Walaykumusalam warahmatullahi wabarakatuh Dear Sister,

      JazakiAllahu khayran for contacting me.

      I would love to get in touch with you. However, I must give a disclaimer that if it pertains to any personal struggle that you want to discuss then I am not qualified for this. Also, my level of knowledge is such that I wouldn’t know how to deal with it. So please if you still want me to contact you on the email address you have given then I wouldn’t mind.

      I have to ‘approve’ comment for it to be visible so don’t worry about privacy. I won’t make it ‘visible’ for anyone. If you could please state the nature of your concern in a comment with your proper email address that you want me to contact on then we could go from there inshaa’Allah.

      -UmmS.

      • Assalamu alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuhu JazakiAllah khair for the reply, and I understand sis if you can contact me on that email address that would be great Insha’Allah Ta’ala

Enlighten the Ummah

