Leave a comment

The Wishes of the Heart…

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

الحمد لله رب العالمين وصلى الله وسلم على رسول الله وعلى آله وأصحابه ومن اهتدى بهديه إلى يوم الدين

sunset

As the sun began to set, the heart cried.

Noticing this, the sun moved over and replied:

O Heart!

Why is it that your sighs reach deeper than the sea,

When your ship has finally reached where it wanted to be?

The shore and the tides were discussing this too,

Is there something we can do to help you?

She, responded, all despondent:

While the moments which contain you shrink, I consistently grow.

These numerous newly-conceived wishes won’t let me go!

Tugging at the frail sails of my fragile ship,

They make me forget that life’s a bitterly short trip.

The sun mused for a moment and then finally said:

I’ve seen the greatest of lovers part,

For no-one will be spared by the death’s dart.

You know better than this to just grieve,

Except your deeds, know everyone will leave.

Come now, dear Heart, won’t you agree?

The heart wept, agreeing, and exclaimed:

I know but the world no longer seems enough…

…to spend my wake…

With those whom I ardently love.

I fear the slumber, I fear the time,

Why is carrying my wishes such a crime?

As the sun smiled, the wisdom shone through the years it had stuck by the horizon’s changing moods.

It finally responded:

Ask the Breeze of Knowledge to direct your sails,

Ask it to take you to a land where provisions don’t stale,

Where lovers will re-unite, where they will forever stay,

Where joy won’t be limited to any time of the day.

Where wishes, manifest or hidden, will all be met,

Happiness there will no longer have a debt.

Dear Heart!

The Lord has promised a peaceful abode,

For hearts which tread carefully on this thorny road.

So for now: pacify your wishes with the lullaby of the Giants of the past,

Every evening, sing them to sleep until the moments last…

My stay is short, I have His Orders to complete,

I wanted to gift you something, lest we never meet.

Here’s a bag of stars for every day you sigh,

Throw them in the air when sad and at night they’ll adorn the sky.

Then sit under the horizon, count them one by one,

Match them with Lord’s Praise until left are none.

As you do this, this long journey will eventually end,

If you reach soundly, then await for His Mercy to descend.

~

At this, the heart’s tears dried.

It found renewed hope.

It realized once again that…

holding onto Allah’s Remembrance is the only way to cope!

From then onwards, as a sheet of darkness spread every night throughout the sky,

The heart diligently transmitted it’s Praises to the One Utmost High.

Then one very starry night,

Under His Orders:

the Breeze of Knowledge silently came,

Directed the heart’s struggling ship towards a beautiful aim…

***

اللهم إني أسألك علما نافعا ورزقا طيبا وعملا متقبلا

O Allah SWT! My heart wishes tonight, yet again to be always with all those whom I love.

Grant me knowledge to safely anchor my ship on the Land of Paradise so that I can forever live with everyone I love!

Let not my heart be distracted by my wishes! Do not let them cloud my mind from my greater purpose of life.

O Allah SWT, grant me a sound heart on the day of Judgement!

And bless my family with khayr in all forms…

Ameen.

Enlighten the Ummah

