Leave a comment

Suwar Series: Unveiling the Beauty that Lies Within – Part 1: The Greatest Name

Bismillah: Asalamo’alaykum warahmatullah,

I am beginning a series to collect the beautiful narrations related to the virtues of the beautiful Surahs in the Quraan. I will only share super authentic ones and will not be collecting any da’eef ones even for the sake of their fadaa-il. You can get better updates through my facebook page if you like.

This series is dedicated to my (almost) 1.5 year old son, Ibraheem, for whom I make regular duaa to be from the ahl of Quraan by giving it haqqah tilawatih. Ameen for him, me and all of us. He inspires me to keep learning despite come what may, alhamdolilah.

We cannot love the Quraan if we do not know the specialities of different Surahs. I am on a mission to make its love more accessible to myself and whoever reads this inshaa’Allah.

-Umm S.

P.S. I am not working on my laptop and have limited time, therefore, excuse the lack of formatting.

Enjoy!

The Greatest Name~*

It was narrated from Abu Umamah (may Allah be pleased with him) that the Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said: “The greatest name of Allah appears in three surahs of the Quran: in al-Baqarah, Al ‘Imran and Taha.”

[Narrated by Ibn Majah (3856) and al-Hakim (1/686); classed as hasan (sound) by al-Albani in al-Silsilah al-Saheehah (746).]

***

He (may Allah have mercy on him) said:

With regard to the words of al-Qasim ibn ‘Abd al-Rahman (the one who narrated it from Abu Umamah) that the greatest name is found in the verse (interpretation of the meaning): “And (all) faces shall be humbled before (Allah), Al-Hayyul-Qayyum (the Ever Living, the One Who sustains and protects all that exists)” [Taha20:111] in Surah Taha, I could not find anything to support it. It is more likely in my view that it is in the verse at the beginning of the surah: “Verily, I am Allah! La ilaha illa Ana (none has the right to be worshipped but I)” [Taha 20:14], and that is in accordance with some saheeh hadeeths (authentic narrations. See: al-Fath (11/225) and Saheeh Abi Dawood (1341).

Reference: Islamqa.com

Enlighten the Ummah

